Thoughts

I Quit

Early this morning I decided to quit reading The Liars Club by Mary Karr.

I came upon this book following the book trail from her book The Art of Memoir. The memoir The Liars Club was not bad I just had to quit when I realized that I was avoiding reading. I was avoiding reading because I was no longer interested in the details of Karr’s life. I basically already know the outcome having read her instruction book on memoir writing. So as of page 142 I am done.

Life is too short and there are too many fun books to read to keep yourself stuck trying to finish something out just because you started reading it.

Some other books I have quit on:

The Living by Matt La Pena

You by Carolina Kepnes

Windfallen by Jojo Moyes

Get In Trouble by Kelly Link

The Living and Get In Trouble were both books I tested out after reading a good collection of YA Lit in My True Love Gave To Me

Neither was particularly bad. They are both geared for a young adult audience. The Living was about some people outliving a virus while aboard a ship, or at least that’s what it seemed to be. I just lost interest in the survivors. Link’s collection of short stories seem written well, but I lost interest when I only liked one out of four stories.

I picked You up on the bargain table at Meijers ($5.95). When I realized it was about a stalker and that it was ultra spooky and not my type I mailed it to my father in law who likes those sorts of stories.

I love some of Jojo Moyes work such as One Plus One and Me Before You but I just couldn’t get into the characters on Windfallen. I was listening to it on audiotape for about an hour before I decided to quit.

What about you? Do you ever call it quits on books? What is one title you quit on?

Leave a Reply

