Uncategorized

If You Only Knew by Kristan Higgins

ifyouonlyknew_fc_no_flash_1

In the wee hours I finished reading If You Only Knew by Kristan Higgins

I thought the book was rather entertaining maybe even one I would consider a page turner. I loved the way it ended.

My favorite quote from the book:

“What some people don’t understand about new clothes is it’s not about the clothes. It’s the promise of how happy you’ll be when you wear them, the wonderful things you’ll be doing in them, how people will look at you and say, yes, there’s a woman who really likes herself.” P.263

Here is a synopsis of the book from the back cover:

“Letting go of her ex-husband is harder than wedding-dress designer Jenny Tate expected…especially since his new wife wants to be Jenny’s new best friend. Sensing this isn’t exactly helping her achieve closure, Jenny trades the Manhattan skyline for her hometown up the Hudson, where she’ll start her own business and bask in her sister Rachel’s picture-perfect family life…and maybe even find a little romance of her own with Leo, her downstairs neighbor, a guy who’s utterly irresistible and annoyingly distant at the same time.

Rachel’s idyllic marriage, however, is imploding after she discovers her husband sexting with a colleague. She always thought she’d walk away in this situation, but her triplet daughters have her reconsidering her stance on adultery, much to Jenny’s surprise. Rachel points to their parents’ perfect marriage as a shining example of patience and forgiveness; but to protect her sister, Jenny may have to tarnish that memory—and their relationship—and reveal a family secret she’s been keeping since childhood.

Both Rachel and Jenny will have to come to terms with the past and the present and find a way to get what they want most of all.”

My favorite review from goodreads.com states:

“…While infidelity, divorce and lies are explored in this book, the delightful way of writing that Kristan Higgins has, along with some of her trademark humor – which is a little muted in this book, all combine to make If You Only Knew a read that I loved.

Great cast of characters, tough issues for them to grapple with, ones whose lives I became invested in.

Only disappointment was – “What, you mean the book has ended. No….!”

I felt the same way, although the book is a lengthy 412 pages I felt that I could have kept reading because I liked the characters so much.

Although I enjoyed this book I did not love it enough to keep it on my shelf. I plan on lending it out and eventually donating it to the library. I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

