Mental Health

The Other Bipolar Disorder

I think it is great that people who have mental illness are willing to share in an effort to help others who struggle. I personally have bipolar 1 disorder which at times can be debilitating. I am currently stable taking a certain mix of medications every day. This person is fortunate that they did not have to be hospitalized. I have graced the psych ward 3 times. I am very grateful for my stability and I do my best not to take it for granted. I just thought this was a good post so I am sharing it with my readers as well.

Et Cetera, etc.

I have bipolar disorder type 2. This is my story.

First, some background. Bipolar disorder used to be called manic-depressive illness, and many people still know and refer to it that way. The term “bipolar” reflects the concept that there are two extremes to the continuum of mood disorders, and some people swing dramatically from one to the other. According to this definition, clinical depression by itself is “unipolar” – occupying only one end of the spectrum.

Depression is to ordinary grief or sadness as a broken leg is to a splinter. Depression sucks the life from a person, mutes all emotions except misery, denies any possibility of joy or even contentment, makes life seem meaningless or impossible. This is hell.

Mania is to ordinary happiness as diving off a cliff is to diving off a diving board. Mania brings exhilaration, ambition, confidence, abandon, and invincibility, with no brakes. It is hell on…

View original post 704 more words

2 thoughts on “The Other Bipolar Disorder

Leave a Reply

