Product Reviews

Baubles & Gimcracks

With it being the holidays you must understand that my collection of baubles and gimcracks have increased. I just wanted to share with you some of the fun stuff I bought for myself and for others.  Okay just one thing for someone else and a few things for myself. 🙂

My husband was in need of a guitar strap for his new blue guitar. It’s a really cool guitar though I can’t really be bothered to remember the brand or any other identifying features and he is sleeping as per usual so I can’t ask. I insisted that he let me pick one out and I thought the best place to look would be Etsy. I adore Etsy; it is self described as “Etsy is a peer-to-peer e-commerce website focused on handmade or vintage items and supplies, as well as unique factory-manufactured items.” In other words a great source for baubles as well as gimcracks.

I swiftly found the what I knew to be the one. It was of a sailor Jerry print including shades of blue that match his guitar. Guess what! He loves it. Here is a picture of it with another guitar (it looks even better on the blue guitar) and here is a link if you are interested in purchasing one too.

il_570xN.649022643_hmyu

I planned early for the holiday and I believe I got the most wondrous Christmas cards that I have ever given. Of course I only bought a few for my most favorite special people, everyone else got something a little more generic. I was on the lookout for something Kewpie. Indeed I discovered exactly what I was looking for in KatyDidsCards shop on Etsy. I feel compelled to tell you about this, not just because I loved the cards (which I did) but also because Laura Haggarty is the kindest person I have ever done business with. She communicated with me often to make sure that I got what I wanted, when I needed it. Additionally, after learning that I too love Kewpie (it’s my husbands nickname and I think the doll is adorable) she went above and beyond and printed me a wide variety of Kewpie stickers. Everyone who received a special card mentioned how nice they were, here is what they looked like:il_570xN.662949907_q529

Another thing I wanted to tell you about is my favorite Christmas present to myself. I bought myself a Kindle Paperwhite. For those that don’t know, it is an e-reader. Of course I didn’t pay full price! I bought it half price, refurbished from Ebay. I don’t think I ever pay full price if I am honest. At least not on expensive items. So far I think it is the best e-reader I have ever had, I am really loving it. Also, what I am really loving is the case I purchased that came in the mail today. It makes it look like a journal and I think the best part is that it is magnetized so that when I open it the Kindle automatically turns on. Here is what my cover looks like:81FcJgVvebL._SL1500_

Finally, now that I am currently reading The Archived by Victoria Schwab I felt the need to get a key. I will tell you more about the book in a future post and then you might understand why I had to get a key. Anyhow I found one on Ebay for six dollars:

s-l1600

With the popularity of steam punk style, there was a wide variety of keys for selecting from. Some that were way cooler then this one. However, the price was right on this one. I couldn’t excuse myself for paying $60 + for a key although I am the first to admit that my consumerism is out of hand. I am considering going on a spending diet so be on the lookout for a post on that nature in the near future. In the meantime, me loves me baubles…and gimcracks.

Leave a Reply

